Two candidates have filed for seats in upcoming elections for city commissions or councils and school boards in Neosho County.

As of Wednesday afternoon, Chanute Board of Education member Brad LaRue had filed for re-election and Keith Van Leeuwen filed for one of five open council positions in St. Paul.

Noon Monday is the deadline to file for positions on the Chanute commission; Thayer, Erie, St. Paul, Earlton, Stark and Galesburg city councils; CUSD 101 Erie, USD 413 Chanute, USD 247 Southeast in Cherokee, USD 248 Girard, USD 447 Cherryvale and USD 505 Chetopa-St. Paul school boards; the Neosho County Community College Board of Trustees; and the Southwind Extension Council.

If needed, the primary election will be held Aug. 6 and the general election will be Nov. 5.

The Chanute commission seats now held by Phil Chaney, Tim Fairchild and Eddie Rosenberger are up for election. The two candidates receiving the highest votes will serve four year terms and the third place vote-getter will serve two years.

USD 413 has four positions open positions on its board, all at large, for four-year terms, and the Erie school board has three district positions and one at-large. The NCCC trustees have three at-large positions for four-year terms.

Five council seats and the mayors’ positions are open in Galesburg and Earlton, as well as the mayor’s position in St. Paul. All are for two-year terms. 

The Erie and Thayer city councils have two council seats and the mayoral position available, all for four-year terms, and the Stark council has three member seats and the mayor open for two-year terms. Southwind Extension Council will elect two positions at large.

The Cherryvale school district has four members, all at large, for four-year terms. Chetopa-St. Paul has three district seats and one at-large for four-year terms.

The last day of voter registration before the primary will be July 16 and the books will reopen Aug. 7 until Oct. 14 before the general election.

Recommended for you

Load comments