Allen County recently announced it would jump on the bandwagon and start targeting people who tag their vehicles out of state.
It is understandable why drivers choose to tag their vehicles in other states. Kansas tags are higher than many states.
According to county treasurer Charla Sands, most people who switched their vehicle registration to Kansas recently came from Missouri and Oklahoma.
The Oklahoma Tax Commission Web site says the state charges a maximum of $91 to tag a brand new vehicle. The cost goes down as the vehicle gets older until it is 17 years old; it bottoms out at $21. Missouri sales tax on a vehicle is about 4 percent, plus other fees.
Again, it is understandable why people choose to take advantage of the option to tag their vehicle in another state if they own property there.
My car is more than 10 years old but I still pay a pretty penny to tag it every year.
But here is the clincher: The law states that the vehicle should be tagged in Kansas if the owner spends the majority of his or her time here.
Whether we grumble about it or not, we must abide by the law or face the consequences.
Other states may be easier on the pocketbook, but when it comes right down to it, the law is the law.
— Melissa Smith
Assistant Managing Editor