HUMBOLDT — The Humboldt Speedway 2014 season is in the record books. The season points champions are Jeremy Chambers in USRA Modifieds, Tyler James in USRA Stock Cars, Jimmie Davis in USRA B-Mods, and Derrek Wilson in Whitworth Construction Pure Stocks.

As the final curtain began to close, a single point separated Jeremy Wilson and Tyler James for the USRA Stock Car season points championship. Since one or the other has been a consistent feature winner all season long, it looked like the stage was set for a classic shootout.

But, hold the phone. David Matlock, many times the runner up this year, reached deep into his bag of horsepower and drove his personal best race of the season to take his first 2014 win at Humboldt. Tyler James made it no easy task, trying hard to pass Matlock before settling in for the runner up spot (and the Season Championship by 10 points!). Third went to Patrick Kay, Eddie Ingram was fourth and Jeremy Wilson finished fifth.

John Allen, who as of late has been touring with USMTS, turned  in a flawless performance in winning the A-Mod feature. Darren Fuqua was second, Jeremy Chambers secured the third spot, with Steven Bowers fourth, and Tad Davis fifth.

Allen had several reasons to be proud this night, as his son, Dylan Allen, joined him in victory lane by winning his second USRA B-Mod feature of the year. Lucas Issacs was the runner up, with Riley Whitworth third, Ethan Issacs fourth, and Dustin Beisley fifth.

Derrek Wilson capped off a stellar season by winning yet another Pure Stock feature. Mike Churning recorded second, with Wayne Johnson third, Sean Felkins fourth, and Don McIntosh fifth.

What better way to close the season than with a Powder Puff Derby? In the Pure Stock/Stock Car race, Kaylee Matlock was the winner, along with Paige Kidwell and Michelle McIntosh. Ravyn Whitworth was the winner in Modifieds/B-Mods, along with Ann Clarkson.

Recommended for you

Load comments